Disaster assistance has been made available for flood-impacted communities in North Queensland following recent monsoon conditions and flooding.

The disaster assistance is available to the Burke, Croydon, Kowanyama, McKinlay and Mornington councils to help with rebuilding efforts.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, David Littleproud, said the State and Federal Governments had agreed to pay for part of the clean-up and repair of public property.

“This will help flood affected councils clean up and reopen roads,” Mr Littleproud said.

“This will let the community get back to business sooner, helping speed up the recovery.

“We’ll keep standing behind these communities and make more assistance available if needed.”

Queensland Minister for Emergency Services, Craig Crawford, said the announcement will alleviate the financial burden on rural and remote communities.

“These five local government areas across North Queensland will be supported as they undertake counter disaster operations and restore damaged public infrastructure,” Mr Crawford said.

“As the impacts from our current disaster season continue to unfold, the Commonwealth and Queensland Governments will work together to ensure all impacted communities, whether it’s fire, flood or cyclone, receive the recovery support they need.”

Assistance for the 2020 Queensland monsoon floods is now available to 20 councils: Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Carpentaria, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Flinders, Kowanyama, Longreach, McKinlay, Mornington, Mount Isa, Palm Island, Richmond, Townsville and Winton.